Summer Essentials

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 9.04.35 PM
After a long semester, the end of the school year is finally in sight! And with the summer months quickly approaching, I thought it’d be a good time to show you what I tend to reach for when the weather gets warm.

IMG_2526

IMG_2534

IMG_2536

IMG_2544

Clothes: I always find myself going for thinner fabrics and lighter colors during the day in order to beat the heat. And you can never go wrong with a good pair of denim shorts! But if you’re going out at night and need to make your look last through the evening breeze, throw on a denim jacket or a thin sweater and you’re good to go. It’s also a relief to finally ditch those winter sweats in favor of some lighter workout gear.

IMG_2567

Bag: After months spent shoving books into a backpack (and feeling like Rory Gilmore when there just isn’t enough room), I’m desperate for something small and simple. This saddlebag holds everything I need on the go and doesn’t weigh me down.

IMG_2608

Shoes: Flip flops. Done.

IMG_2573

Nails: In general, I tend to stick to more neutral and muted colors during the year. But after a particularly long winter, you run the risk of mistaking me for Casper the friendly ghost I’m so pale. Turquoise And Caicos by Essie is a great polish when I need something a bit more bold.

IMG_2584

SPF: We all know that it’s important to wear sunscreen. But put it in a moisturizer, and things just got a whole lot easier. This daily moisturizer’s already got SPF 15 built right into the formula and, on top of that, it doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily. That’s a win-win in my book!

IMG_2580

Lip Balm: There’s absolutely no excuse for having this many eos lip balms laying around, but I just love them in the summer time. You don’t have to fiddle with the packaging just to get the product up and they smell great as an added bonus.

IMG_2595

Moisturizer: The more I get dem legs out, the more I find myself reaching for moisturizer! I picked this one up at Trader Joes purely because of the scent, but I’ve already gone through half the bottle! It’s great on the legs and it’s not greasy on the hands.

IMG_2592

Hand Sanitizer: I tend to prefer good ol’ soap and water to hand sanitizer when I need to wash up, but for day trips or longer outings, it’s always nice to have some Purell handy. (ha ha get it? Handy…? I know. I know.)

IMG_2560

Tunes: This time of year always makes me want to throw my favorite summer songs into one enormous playlist and crank it up loud on the way to the beach. But if a seaside trip isn’t in my future, Jack Johnson is a great substitute!

IMG_2561

A Good Book: For me this one is a year-rounder. But particularly in the summer, when I need to give the noggin a break, I tend to go for something simple, fun, and gripping.

IMG_2593

Post-its: I know, I know. This one seems really random. But when the semester ends and I reach the final pages of my agenda book, I still need someplace to jot down my thoughts. Post-its are great for writing reminders or creating to-do lists (plus they come in all kinds of fun colors).

I hope you guys liked taking a look at what I’ll be reaching for this summer! Let me know- what are some of your summer essentials?

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 4.55.04 PM

Leave a Reply

