New Series Announcement & A Gift For You

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 2.05.04 PMFor the past two years, I’ve used this blog as a forum. I’ve tested and questioned the way I look at books. I’ve shared my thoughts on writing with you all. I’ve even introduced you to other writers in our glorious community.

And the response has been absolutely amazing.

To thank you for your support and to launch our community into the new year with a bang, today I’m announcing a brand new series on the blog: Fifty States Of Fiction.

Last year I found myself in a reading rut. I didn’t know what to pick up but I knew I needed to step outside of my comfort zone. So, as usual, I set myself a challenge. I planned to find one book from every state in the country, read them, and share them all with you. 50 books in 50 weeks (with a surprise or two along the way…).

So here’s how the series works. Each week, I’ll introduce you to a new state through the lens of a book I’ve read. It could be a memoir, a novel, or a play. In each post, you’ll learn some facts about the state and get a feel for how the author encapsulates it in his or her own voice.

I will be uploading every week in 2017. EVERY WEEK. And, as if that wasn’t exciting enough, I have one more surprise for you…

To go along with the launch of my new series, I’ve designed a monthly 2017 calendar, just for you! It’s completely free, book-themed, and, in my humble opinion, absolutely fabulous. (Check out the link at the end of this post.)

Here’s a sneak peek of the 2017 Fifty States Of Fiction calendar:

IMG_7389

IMG_7422

IMG_7478

IMG_7426

IMG_7462

IMG_7470

IMG_7447

This calendar has some awesome features. First of all, it’s a single document of 12 printable sheets so you can print out as many copies as you’d like. Sheets like this are a really fun way to motivate yourself throughout the entire year. I’ve put them all together in a clipboard to prop up on my desk, but you can use them anyway you’d like. Pin them on your wall, attach them to string lights, or slip them in a glass frame to mark off the days in dry erase pen.

At the end of each week, I’ve also placed a stamp with the name of the state I’ll be writing about on the blog. This way, if you want to follow along with my cross-country literary journey, you can keep track of which states are coming up next.

Finally, at the bottom of each month I’ve included a line for YOU to customize your calendar. This is a place for you to write down a book you read that month, a book you’d like to read in the future, or tell me which of the month’s books was your favorite.

How To Print:

  1. Download the PDF file below
  2. Print out the calendar on normal printer paper or thicker cardstock to make it more durable
  3. Hang it on the fridge, slip it into a clipboard, or find a new, creative way to display your copy

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 6.26.42 AM

Throughout the year, make sure you show me how creative you get with your calendar. Tweet me pictures of yourself using the calendar or leave them in the comments below. I can’t wait to see what you creative beauties come up with!

So, whadahyah say? Are you ready to travel the country with me and a boatload of fabulous books? Download your free copy of the calendar and check back next week to learn about our first destination.

Alabama…I’m coming for you.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 4.55.04 PM

One thought on “New Series Announcement & A Gift For You

Leave a Reply

